top of page

Dove Tales

It is September, and a former missionary to Madagascar, Jean Larson, has been our first presenter in our new Tuesday, 10:15 AM, Spiritual Care series called DOVE TALES. Dove, for the Holy Spirit. Tales, of course, meaning stories. Holy Spirit stories, told by friends of Northfield Retirement Community. We hope, over time, to get residents, family members, staff, and others to share the moments and things in their lives that show forth God's presence, wisdom, and glory.

Jean Larson has just published a book called HOPE ON THE JOURNEY. It is a book of poems and essays where she shares her experience of "walking with chronic disease" with her husband, Milt Larson. Jean was his primary caregiver during his many years with Parkinson's.

Jean's story, told mostly in poetry, spoke to us faithfully in the Care Center of Northfield Retirement Community. Her words spoke powerfully to her listeners, residents, and family members who were living out a story similar to Jean's and Milt's.

Jean advises us to read Romans 15:13, I Thessalonians 5, and Colossians 3:17, to gain the wisdom that has nurtured her especially those last years with Milt. She counseled me: "In everything, give thanks!" She also testified: "I want to be used by the Lord to help others."

I asked Jean if I might share the names of her children and their present work and location, since they all were my school chums in Madagascar. She agreed. Nordeen (Norge) Larson, her eldest, is an oceanographer residing on the west coast of the United States. Carolyn Larson, closest to me in age, is a librarian in Lihue on Kauai in Hawaii. Pier M. Larson is a well-regarded scholar in African history. Maren E. Larson is an undergraduate academic counselor at Penn State University. All of them, like their parents, already have lives fruitful in blessing God's Creation.

There is another meaning, by the way, for DOVE TALES. It is a term I heard my dad use when he was building a boat with his Malagasy co-worker, Seta, in Manantantely, Madagascar, where my parents lived and worked and where my siblings and I spent our weekends and vacations. Dad used the word DOVETAIL to mean "fitting together tightly two interlocking pieces of wood." DOVETAIL:To join together; to fit together easily and conveniently. To make strong, by joining together, in order to make last--if not forever, for a very long time.

I hope there is a lot of DOVETAILING and DOVETALE-ING going on--both at NRC and in Madagascar this November and in the years to come.

bottom of page